Back to News

Awards, Sponsored Events Cap Off Successful 2017 AIA SD Convention

September 15, 2017

The 2017 AIA South Dakota Convention has been a very exciting one for Architecture Incorporated!

Alan Richard “Dick” Dempster, AIA, LEED AP, founding principal architect and partner of Architecture Incorporated, was presented with the 2017 AIA South Dakota Legacy Award. Dempster has devoted his career to community service and architectural stewardship, helping to preserve the Shoto Teien Japanese Gardens, the Soo Square building, First Congregational Church and the former Masonic Library that now serves as Architecture Incorporated’s Sioux Falls office.

Andrew Eitreim, AIA, CDT, LEEP AP BD+C, vice president and principal architect of Architecture Incorporated, was named the first recipient of the AIA South Dakota Young Architect Award. The award recognizes Eitreim’s strong work ethic, his ability to find innovative solutions to problems and his active involvement as an AIA board member and with other community organizations.

Architecture Incorporated also successfully nominated Jerry Lohr to be the first recipient of the AIA South Dakota Champion of Architecture Award. This award acknowledges the continued commitment to architectural excellence by an individual not directly related to the architectural profession. Lohr is one of the five founding partners of South Dakota's first accredited architecture program, pledging private funds and service as a member of the program's advisory board.

In addition to receiving these honors, the firm also sponsored "An Evening of Art, Architecture and Community with Dale Lamphere," where Principal Architect Kristine Bjerke contributed as a panelist. Lamphere, a renowned sculptor and South Dakota artist laureate, sculpted "Dignity," the breathtaking figure which perches atop a bluff overlooking the Missouri River in Chamberlain. Lamphere has also been commissioned to build the Arc of Dreams, a massive stainless steel sculpture that will span the Big Sioux River in downtown Sioux Falls.